The project

Young people tell about the humanist transition of the 21st century on their territory

  • A 1h32 feature-length documentary film At the movie theater and at the television.
  • On all screens : An internet platform that offers collaborative mediation tools for learnact and swarm.

The project

Developing the power to act by co-constructing stories with young people

  • Co-build the future with young people, all actors in the field and stakeholders
  • Encourage citizens, institutions and decision-makers to resolutely engage in concrete actions in response to the major challenges of the 21st century
  • Spread positive stories (behaviors, role models) and inspiring

Eight connected territories:

With the participation of José Garcia,
Roukiata Ouedraogo and Pierre Rabhi

 

Goals

Support young people aged 10 to 25 in reflecting on the challenges of the future by offering them the opportunity to be the authors of the stories themselves. Trained and supervised by professionals, they seize the cameras and microphones and tell about the innovative initiatives encountered in their territory, while carrying out actions in the field.

This ambitious project brings together, without casting, according to the meetings, the youth from 4 countries and 8 territories coming from the north and the south of the planet, from rural and urban areas. Exchanges and experiences between the different territories are carried out to understand the diversities and convergences of each other, with the aim of creating a universal consciousness.

Approach

How do we relate to our youth, here and now? How can children and young people remain authors and actors of their lives? In all circumstances, in all conditions? 

Author and director of several films released in theaters, as well as around thirty documentaries for television, Pierre Beccu has been working in parallel since 1997 with cinema programs with the younger generations, for a new artistic and civic commitment. In the method now supported by the association "6labs - children mediators", everything starts from a strong perception of nature and the surrounding environment to go towards the story via cinematographic language and digital tools. Confident in their creative power, children and young people become authors and actors of the present world and of the future to be built, and consequently prescribers and mediators for the adults around them.

The themes

The health - equity - sustainability triptych emanates from numerous preparatory discussions with young people. The stories evoke the relationship in a concrete way:

  •      to nature (sustainable development)
  •      to others (equity)
  •      to oneself (health, physical and mental)

and offer the technological challenge (camera, computer) as an active personal adventure to become an author and actor in one's own life and in the world to be built.

The questions asked

  • What solutions to fight concretely against inequalities of treatment, what social, educational, cultural actions?
  • How can we invent a positive future for ourselves?
  • How can the environmental theme be taken into account by the greatest number, by the youngest and by the elderly?
  • How to make the city of tomorrow a success through transition?
  • How to allow everyone to take their place?
  • How can children and young people mediate the environmental and social cause with unconverted adults? 

Food and agriculturequestioning the ecological and social impact of its consumption, relocating food production and consumption, cultivating in public spaces, environmentally friendly agricultural practices, short supply chains, etc.
Circular economygive objects a second life to reduce our consumption of natural resources, reduce the amount of waste, use renewable energies for energy creation, apply recycling ...
Alternative economy and workstimulate the local economy, reconsider work, social and solidarity economy, fair trade, local currency ...
Exchange and sharingdevelop cooperation and solidarity in a friendly atmosphere, with barter, donations, sharing of know-how and objects, crowdsourcing (participatory production to carry out a project or a task), recycling centers, accorderies, etc.

Transport and energyreduce the ecological impact of travel, heating, electricity consumption, move towards renewable energies and support their local development, eco-construction, etc.
Do it yourself meet their daily needs by using healthy and economical products, Do It Yourself, Fablabs ...

Biodiversitylearn to better understand the riches of nature in order to better preserve them

The cinema project

At the beginning, there is a return to the first contact with nature, to perceive, feel and think for oneself. Then comes the creation of a common narrative. Young people and children are made aware of and trained in the camera, sound and editing. The immense desire to make a film gives way to the rigor of reflection, of the exchange, to the richness of the project to be carried out together. Young people invite all generations and all sectors of civilian life to participate, to contribute knowledge, know-how or concrete experiences. Children feel, think, develop, create. They plant, harvest, knead the leaven of the future, design and manufacture the tools of the transition and construct the stories.

The common thread recounts the discussions, the tests, the locations, the hesitations and connects through an OFF voice. There is no interview asked. All those who speak up are at the same time helping out.

The images filmed by the young people themselves mingle with those of the making of, produced by the professional team, to clearly show the manufacturing process. The challenges of today's world are posed through the eyes of young people in all their diversity.

Brought together by the editing, the 332 young directors address their families, schools, institutions, illustrious witnesses, nations, to ask them to also sow the seeds of hope. 

The fact of associating art cinematographic, the transmedia and the creativity of the citizen youth makes it possible to directly impact mentalities and behaviors. Pierre Beccu's desire is to address the General Public resolutely, well beyond converts and initiates, by highlighting the territories and their ability to meet challenges.

With the participation of ...

Pierre Rabhi, French farmer, writer and thinker who participates in the film by visiting the children of "the children's farm in Ardèche".

José Garcia, the French-Spanish film actor and comedian, has decided to fully invest in the project. He will participate in part of the filming with the children and will also be one of the film's OFF voices.

Roukiata Ouedraogo, author and actress, says the other part of the film's voice OFF. She participated in the filming in her native country, Burkina Faso, and with the Première ASSP 4 of the Louise Michel de Champigny high school. 

The groups of children concerned

There was no “casting”. We work with these groups of children because we have met the teachers or animators who supervise them and they were sensitive to our approach. For some groups, exchanges with another territory or another country had already been established and we were able to extend the areas of action of the project.

We worked with the territory of Reunion Island on our last film released in theaters in 2015 "Glances on our plates". It was on this occasion that we met the teachers of the classes of the elementary school of Petite Ile and the high schools. The pupils saw the film and then began to work and reflect on food and their territory. The teacher at the agricultural high school of Saint-Paul told us about the regular exchanges that the establishment maintains with the CRFPA in Madagascar. He put us in touch with the founder of the Village of Joy, which educates and supports 300 children.

The exchange with Burkina Faso was proposed by the City of Grenoble which put us in touch with the Tetraktys association, based in Grenoble, an NGO which works for the harmonious development of territories around the world and carries out several actions in this country. A chance for the children of Grenoble and those of Ouagadougou to be able to discuss among themselves the development capacities of their respective territories.

The platform

At a time of significant democratization of media and access to flows, transmedia content is struggling to offer new content and effective educational tools on the theme of the necessary ecological and humanist transition. Sensitive audiences are difficult to reach when it comes to food, health, sustainable development and citizenship.

The challenge is taken up by the youth themselves, who have the capacity to move the lines, accelerate the change of mentalities and behaviors, and encourage the passage to the act. We have decided not to address ourselves to citizens to convince or educate them, but to offer the challenge of being sensitized and convinced by young people. For us, they are not a target, but creators of resources and mediators.

As an extension of the feature film, we propose to create educational tools, with education professionals, accessible to all, young and old, to be able to create and share short or long stories from citizens.

The tutorials composed for the making of the film “Seeds of Hope” will be used and adapted for the platform.

The association of transmedia, the creativity of young citizens and cinematographic art makes it possible to directly impact mentalities and behaviors:

  • Children and citizens show the path of ecological transition with beautiful and inspiring stories
  • Around stories, allow others to be inspired by practices, professions, behaviors
  • Digital technology is a great vector of sharing for learning, doing, promoting, spreading
  • Everyone can contribute, making their own stories
  • By publishing content on the platform, the citizen becomes author, actor and producer of his territory and of the humanist transition
  • The territory can do a lot if it is strongly connected inside and with the outside
  • Connect this “humanist transition laboratory” experience with citizen or expert networks
  • Directly impact the behavior of citizens and consumers, and be able to verify the results on economic dynamics.

The stages of the project:

Setting up the device

1 / Awareness-raising, training of children in film professions

Work with youth begins with a phase of training to the cinema professions but also a phase of sensitization to be able to perceive and feel the territory in all its cultural diversity and translate its stories by modern means of digitization. We have created tutorials to help students and supervisors, on whom they can rely throughout the project.

2 / Locating, documentation, discussions at home, the investigation is taking shape

Exchanges outside of collective working hours are necessary for the collection of information. It is by discussing with those around them that young people will discover initiatives to promote.

3 / Technical cinema and multimedia training follow-up, filming of scouting books, exchanges with other territories 

In parallel with the work of locating and documenting, the young people will get to know children from other territories. This is an opportunity for them to talk about the research already carried out. They draw inspiration from each other to dig and deepen their investigations.

Each child is trained and made aware of the cinema professions. Each student practices shooting, sound, editing in initiation mode. Then, gradually, the students specialize by competence affinity vis-à-vis the project.

4 / Remote work, writing, validation of the writing by a synopsis and a pre-charter uniting us between territories 

The writing work is complementary to the scouting and research work. It is a summary for each territory allowing to know the progress of the work for each one and also to know what is the nature of each identified initiative.

5 / Shooting:

When the shooting starts, the professional teams are present to shoot the film in the process of being done with the children.

6 / Inventory - selection - assembly by young people

7 / Professional assembly

8 / Validation (Final Cut) by young people

9 / Technical finishes

Le projet

Les jeunes racontent la transition humaniste du XXIème siècle sur leur territoire

  • Un film documentaire long-métrage de 1h32 au cinéma et à la télévision.
  • Sur tous les écrans : Une plateforme internet qui propose des outils de médiation collaborative pour apprendreagir et essaimer.

Le projet

Le développement du pouvoir d’agir par la co-construction des récits avec la jeunesse

  • Co-construire l’avenir avec la jeunesse, tous les acteurs de terrain et les parties prenantes
  • Inciter les citoyens, les institutions et les décideurs à s’engager résolument dans les actes concrets en réponse aux grands défis du XXIème siècle
  • Essaimer des récits (des comportements, des modèles) positifs et inspirants

Huit territoires connectés :

Avec la participation de José Garcia,
Roukiata Ouedraogo et Pierre Rabhi

 

Les objectifs

Accompagner les jeunes de 10 à 25 ans dans la réflexion sur les enjeux de l’avenir en leur proposant d’être eux-mêmes auteurs des récits.
 Formés et encadrés par des professionnels, ils s’emparent des caméras et des micros et racontent les initiatives innovantes rencontrées sur leur territoire, tout en menant des actions de terrain.

Ce projet ambitieux réunit, sans casting, au gré des rencontres, la jeunesse issue de 4 pays et de 8 territoires venant du nord et du sud de la planète, de milieux ruraux et urbains. Des échanges, des expériences entre les différents territoires sont réalisés pour comprendre les diversités et convergences des uns et des autres, dans le but de faire naître une conscience universelle.

La démarche

Quel rapport a-t-on avec notre jeunesse, ici et maintenant ? Comment les enfants et les jeunes peuvent-ils rester auteurs et acteurs de leur vie ? En toutes circonstances, en toutes conditions ? 

Auteur réalisateur de plusieurs films sortis aux cinéma, ainsi que d’une trentaine de documentaires pour la télévision, Pierre Beccu mène en parallèle depuis 1997 des dispositifs cinéma avec les jeunes générations, pour un nouvel engagement artistique et citoyen. Dans la méthode désormais portée par l’association « 6labs – les enfants médiateurs », tout part d’une perception forte de la nature et du milieu environnant pour aller vers le récit via le langage cinématographique et les outils numériques. Mis en confiance sur leur pouvoir créateur, les enfants et les jeunes deviennent auteurs et acteurs du monde présent et du futur à construire, et par conséquent prescripteurs et médiateurs pour les adultes qui les entourent.

Les thèmes abordés

Le triptyque santé – équité – durabilité émane des nombreux échanges préparatoires avec les jeunes. Les récits évoquent d’une façon concrète le rapport :

  •      à la nature (développement durable)
  •      aux autres (équité)
  •      à soi-même (santé, physique et mentale)

et proposent le défi technologique (caméra, ordinateur) comme une aventure personnelle active pour devenir auteur et acteur de sa propre vie et du monde à construire.

Les questions posées

  • Quelles solutions pour lutter concrètement contre les inégalités de traitement, quelles actions sociales, éducatives, culturelles ?
  • Comment peut-on s’inventer un avenir positif ?
  • Comment la thématique environnement peut-elle être prise en compte par le plus grand nombre, par les plus jeunes et par les aînés ?
  • Comment réussir la ville de demain par la transition ?
  • Comment permettre à chacun de prendre sa place ?
  • Comment les enfants et les jeunes peuvent-ils être médiateurs de la cause environnementale et sociale auprès des adultes non convertis ? 

Alimentation et agricultures’interroger sur l’impact écologique et social de sa consommation, relocaliser la production et la consommation alimentaire, cultiver dans l’espace public, pratiques agricoles respectueuses de l’environnement, circuits courts…
Économie circulairedonner une deuxième vie aux objets pour réduire notre consommation en ressources naturelles, réduire la quantité des déchets, utiliser les énergies renouvelables pour la création d’énergie, appliquer le recyclage…
Economie alternative et travailstimuler l’économie locale, reconsidérer le travail, l’économie sociale et solidaire, le commerce équitable, la monnaie locale…
Echange et partagedévelopper la coopération et la solidarité en toute convivialité, avec le troc, les dons, les partages de savoir-faire et d’objets, crowdsourcing (production participative pour réaliser un projet ou une tâche), les recycleries, accorderies…

Transports et énergieréduire l’impact écologique des déplacements, chauffage, consommation électrique, s’orienter vers les énergies renouvelables et soutenir leur développement local, l’éco-construction…
Faire soi-même répondre à ses besoins quotidiens en utilisant des produits sains et économiques, Do It Yourself, Fablabs…

Biodiversitéapprendre à mieux connaître les richesses de la nature pour mieux les préserver

Le projet cinéma

Au départ, il y a un retour au contact premier avec la nature, pour percevoir, ressentir et penser par soi-même. Puis vient la création d’un récit commun. Les jeunes et les enfants sont sensibilisés et formés à la caméra, au son, au montage. 
Le désir immense de faire un film laisse place à la rigueur de la réflexion,
 de l’échange, à la richesse du projet à mener ensemble. Les jeunes invitent toutes les générations et tous les secteurs de la vie civile à participer, à apporter des connaissances, des savoir-faire ou des expériences concrètes. Les enfants ressentent, pensent, élaborent, créent. Ils plantent, récoltent, pétrissent le levain de l’avenir, conçoivent et fabriquent les outils de la transition et construisent les récits.

Le fil conducteur raconte les discussions, les essais, les repérages, les hésitations et relie par le biais d’une voix OFF. Il n’y a aucune interview posée. Tous ceux qui s’expriment mettent en même temps la main à la pâte.

Les images filmées par les jeunes eux-mêmes se mêlent à celles du making of, réalisé par l’équipe professionnelle, pour bien montrer le processus de fabrication. Les enjeux du monde actuel sont posés à travers le regard de la jeunesse dans toute sa diversité.

Réunis par le montage, les 332 jeunes réalisateurs s’adressent à leurs familles, aux écoles, aux institutions, aux illustres témoins, aux nations, pour leur demander de semer eux-aussi les graines d’espoir. 

Le fait d’associer l’art cinématographique, le transmédia et la créativité de la jeunesse citoyenne permet d’impacter directement les mentalités et les comportements. La volonté de Pierre Beccu est de s’adresser résolument au Grand Public, bien au-delà des convertis et des initiés, en mettant en valeur les territoires et leur capacité à relever les défis.

Ave la participation de…

Pierre Rabhi, agriculteur, écrivain et penseur français qui participe au film en venant visiter les enfants de « la ferme des enfants en Ardèche ».

José Garcia, l’acteur de cinéma et humoriste franco-espagnol, a décidé de s’investir pleinement dans le projet. Il participera à une partie du tournage avec les enfants et sera également l’une des voix OFF du film.

Roukiata Ouedraogo, auteure et comédienne, dit l’autre partie del a voix OFF du film. Elle a participé au tournage dans son pays natal, le Burkina Faso, et avec les Première ASSP 4 du lycée Louise Michel de Champigny. 

Les groupes d’enfants concernés

Il n’y a pas eu de « casting ». Nous travaillons avec ces groupes d’enfants parce que nous avons rencontré les enseignants ou animateurs qui les encadrent et qu’ils ont été sensibles à notre démarche. Pour certains groupes, des échanges avec un autre territoire ou un autre pays étaient déjà instaurés et nous avons pu étendre les territoires d’actions du projet.

Nous avons travaillé avec le territoire de l’Ile de la Réunion sur notre dernier film sorti au cinéma en 2015 « Regards sur nos assiettes ». C’est à cette occasion que nous avons rencontré les enseignants des classes de l’école primaire de Petite Ile et des lycées. Les élèves ont vu le film puis amorcé un travail et une réflexion sur l’alimentation et leur territoire. Le professeur au lycée agricole de Saint-Paul nous a parlé des échanges réguliers que l’établissement entretient avec le CRFPA à Madagascar. Il nous a mis en contact avec le fondateur du Village de la joie qui scolarise et fait vivre 300 enfants.

L’échange avec le Burkina Faso a été proposé par la Ville de Grenoble qui nous a mis en lien avec l’association Tetraktys, basée à Grenoble, une ONG qui oeuvre pour le développement harmonieux des territoires à travers le monde et mène plusieurs actions dans ce pays. Une chance pour les enfants de Grenoble et ceux de Ouagadougou de pouvoir échanger entre eux sur les capacités de développement de leurs territoires respectifs.

La plateforme

À l’heure d’une démocratisation importante des supports et de l’accès aux flux, les contenus transmédias ont du mal à proposer de nouveaux contenus et des outils pédagogiques efficaces sur le thème de la nécessaire transition écologique et humaniste. 
Les publics sensibles sont difficiles à toucher sur la thématique alimentation, santé, développement durable et citoyenneté.

Le défi est relevé par la jeunesse elle-même, qui a la capacité de faire bouger les lignes, d’accélérer le changement des mentalités et des comportements, et de susciter le passage à l’acte. Nous avons décidé de ne pas nous adresser aux citoyens pour les convaincre ou les sensibiliser, mais de proposer le challenge d’être sensibilisés et convaincus par les jeunes. Pour nous, ils ne sont pas une cible, mais des créateurs de ressources et des médiateurs.

Dans le prolongement du film long-métrage, nous proposons de créer des outils pédagogiques, avec des professionnels de l’éducation, accessibles à tous, jeunes et moins jeunes, pour pouvoir fabriquer et partager des récits courts ou longs venant des citoyens.

Les tutoriels composés pour la réalisation du film «Graines d’espoir» seront utilisés et adaptés pour la plateforme.

L’association du transmédia, de la créativité de la jeunesse citoyenne et de l’art cinématographique permet d’impacter directement les mentalités et les comportements :

  • Les enfants et les citoyens montrent le chemin de 
la transition écologique par des récits beaux et inspirants
  • Autour des récits, permettre à d’autres de s’inspirer des pratiques, des métiers, des comportements
  • Le numérique est un formidable vecteur de partage pour apprendre, faire, promouvoir, essaimer
  • Chacun peut contribuer, en fabriquant ses propres récits
  • En publiant des contenus sur la plateforme, le citoyen devient auteur, acteur et producteur de son territoire et de la transition humaniste
  • Le territoire peut beaucoup s’il est fortement connecté à l’intérieur et avec l’extérieur
  • Connecter cette expérience de «laboratoire de transition humaniste» avec les réseaux citoyens ou experts
  • Impacter directement les comportements des citoyens et des consommateurs, et pouvoir vérifier les résultats sur la dynamique économique.

Les étapes du projet :

Mise en place du dispositif

1/ Sensibilisation, formation des enfants aux métiers du cinéma

Le travail avec la jeunesse démarre par une phase de formation aux métiers du cinéma mais aussi une phase de sensibilisation pour pouvoir percevoir et ressentir le territoire dans toute sa diversité culturelle et en traduire les récits par les moyens modernes de numérisation. Nous avons créé des tutoriels pour aider les élèves et les encadrants, sur lesquels ils pourront s’appuyer tout au long du projet.

2/ Repérages, documentation, échanges à la maison, l’enquête se dessine

Les échanges en dehors des temps de travail collectif sont nécessaires à la collecte d’informations. C’est en discutant avec leur entourage que les jeunes vont découvrir des initiatives à valoriser.

3/ Suivi formation technique cinéma et multimédia, tournage des carnets de repérages, échanges avec les autres territoires 

En parallèle du travail de repérage et de documentation, les jeunes feront connaissance avec les enfants d’autres territoires. C’est l’occasion pour eux de parler des recherches déjà menées. Ils s’inspirent les uns des autres pour creuser et approfondir leurs investigations.

Chaque enfant est formé et sensibilisé aux métiers du cinéma. Chaque élève pratique la prise de vues, le son, le montage en mode initiation. Puis, progressivement, les élèves se spécialisent par affinité de compétence vis-à-vis du projet.

4/ Travail à distance, écriture, validation de l’écriture par un synopsis et une pré-charte nous unissant entre territoires 

Le travail d’écriture est complémentaire au travail de repérage et de recherche. C’est une synthèse pour chaque territoire permettant de connaître l’état d’avancement du travail pour chacun et aussi de savoir quelle est la nature de chaque initiative relevée.

5/ Tournage :

Quand le tournage démarre, les équipes professionnelles sont présentes pour tourner le film entrain de se faire avec les enfants.

6/ Inventaire – sélection – montage par les jeunes

7/ Montage professionnel

8/ Validation (Final Cut) par les jeunes

9/ Finitions techniques